top of page

" I see you creating fire with your feet'

Last week I kick started my weekend with an explosive energy booster dance class.

I remember a woman who read my past life regression once (I happen to be curious about these things) saying to me: ‘ I see you creating fire with your feet!’ - Well it made perfect sense when she said it because prior to going to see her I taught a dance class where the floor could have easily been on fire with all the moves and grooves induced by infectious Latin rhythms.

And that’s what happened in last week's class. I created fire with my feet and completely abandoned myself to the joyful freedom of dancing. I believe I made Terpsichore, the goddess of song and dance very proud!I got so enthused, that if the music suddenly stopped, I think I would have carried on dancing, completely oblivious to it and lost in my own world. I never stopped smiling throughout the class. We were all possessed worshippers of Terpsichore in that room, with huge grins on our faces from the sheer joy of throwing limbs in the air, shaking our booties, jumping high and landing hard on that floor. The energy we created could have powered up a broken generator or lit up the whole street.

Dance is definitely one of the most beautiful forms of creating positive contagious energy and of letting go of any tension in my mind and body. It’s so liberating and transformative and devoid of any judgment and barriers. I embrace my free spirited self when I dance. I lift all barriers for who I am or want to be.

The guy who lead the class was the epitome of free spirited dancing as he put on an exquisite show for us all, with different costumes for different music genres including a golden cloak with a massive disco wig and a killer pair of leopard print high heals which would have made models on the catwalk green with envy if they saw him how he danced and strutted his stuff on them. (did I make myself clear that this was a guy?). I love people who step out of norms and shock with extravagance (when it’s done in a positive way by kind, intelligent and talented people as an offering of themselves to the audience). It takes courage, generosity and effort and creates an abundance of fun.

I danced all my tension away that evening and thought of what a better place the world would be if everyone danced their way through the day. Can you imagine how amazing our day would be if we all danced our way to work? 'How did you commute today? - Ah, I did a little salsa routine on road 4 and then hip hopped all the way to road 2'.

I can picture a worldwide musical and dance show right now!

That’s what the world needs: More music! More dance!


bottom of page