top of page

'To be (a blogger) or not …..that was indeed the question!

I feel like I need to explain how this website/blog has come into existence!

Given that at this time in my life I have the luxury (forced upon me) of affording to spend some of my time in the way I choose to (I don’t want to call it free time because it’s not free, it comes at the cost of choosing to do one thing over another...) and I have a lot of things I think of and a lot of things to say I guess, I thought why not collecting it all in one place and spreading the word... (literally).

However, initially I didn’t fancy the idea of being a blogger (I don’t quite like the sound of the word). I also didn’t like the idea of doing what ‘everyone else’ is doing right now: blogging, tweeting, facebooking, clogging up the networks etc. Although, I have fallen into the trap of social networking (how did we live without facebook before?), at the same time I feel a little cynical about this whole ‘cloud’ where everyone deposits and saves pieces of their lives ready to be accessed at only one click of the mouse! And then the whole issue of blogging and sharing became the controversy of the week for me so much so that I had to ponder on it for a few days. Inevitably the ‘little’ ego comes in as well and wonders about why should I share my twisted thoughts to start with ( very protective little ego!), whether people will enjoy reading my blog, who’s going to read it, what makes my blog different to others, shall I make it public, shall I share it with friends only, which blog platform to use, what name to write under and the list goes on.

So I had to calm myself down and while stepping over my ego and giving it the ‘who cares?’ look I decided to go for it. I love writing and that’s what I am going to do! And it will be on whatever crosses my mind and throws me into some contemplation and gets me in the mood to play with words.

'Let the beauty of what you love be what you do!' - showed up in big red letters on the page of a magazine I was flicking through a few days after I decided to get my blog started. I couldn't ignore this sign, could I?

So if you do happen to become a reader, expect no consistency, no same tone and writing style, probably a lot of sarcasm, an imagination I have no control over, some unusual topics, a great deal of digression, which may end up in lengthy reflections and enough analysis to give me a headache and hopefully something that will somehow add to your world and your own contemplations :-)

Me.


bottom of page